So Many Ways to Experience Joy!

From appetizers and snacks to portable breakfasts and savory salads, Joy is not just for dessert! Our waffle bowls are incredibly versatile.

See Recipes ▶
Waffle Bowl Inventions

General Questions

How did Joy Cone start?

Mr. George & Mr. Thomas were partners in a small grocery store, and the cone business was started as a side business known as the George & Thomas Cone Co.  The story is that a friend of Albert’s knew about some ice cream cone baking machinery that was for sale.  Since he already knew how to run the machinery, he suggested to Albert that if he bought the machinery and gave him a job, he would run the equipment for him.  The equipment was primitive and hand operated, but worked, and the cone business prospered.

Is there alcohol in your products?

Our Cake Cup/Cone products are made using natural vanilla, which contains a small amount of ethyl-alcohol.  However, please know that the ethyl-alcohol is flashed off during the baking process.  No alcohol is contained in our Sugar, Waffle Cone/Bowl, or Pretzel Cone products.

What allergens do your products contain?


All Joy Cone packaged products declare all major allergenic ingredients in our products in accordance with the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA).  Any food is capable of causing an allergic reaction, only 8 account for 90% of all food-allergic reactions in the US.  These foods are identified by FALCPA as:

  • milk
  • egg
  • fish
  • Crustacean shellfish
  • tree nuts
  • wheat
  • peanuts
  • soybeans


While the list below is not exhaustive, allergic reactions have been reported due to:

  • Corn
  • Gelatin
  • Meat (beef, chicken, mutton, and pork)
  • Seeds (sesame, sunflower, and poppy being the most common) Spices (caraway, coriander, garlic, mustard, etc.)


Joy Cone calls out in the "Contains" statement "Wheat" for all ice cream cups and calls out "Wheat, Soy" for all waffle and sugar cones/bowl.  The Chocolaty Dipped Cups "Contains: Wheat, Milk, Soy".  Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) doesn't require the "other foods" which individuals may be sensitive to be called out on labels, however, you will find the ingredient utilized in the formulation amongst the ingredient list on a food label which declares each ingredient in descending order of predominance. FDA 21 CFR 101.4(a).

For More Information:

The Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network CDC Press Release: Study on Food Allergies in Children  



How do you guarantee that your gluten free ice cream cake cups and sugar cones are gluten free?

Our gluten free ice cream cones and cups are produced using a mixer that is dedicated to gluten free batter.  The batter lines to our ovens are thoroughly cleaned to remove any trace of gluten prior to each gluten free production run.

We use test strips that can detect gluten particles as low as 5 parts per million.

What is the best way to store the cones to maintain freshness?

The best way to store the cones is in an air-tight container in a cool dry place.  

If cake cups lose crispness, preheat oven to 300° then turn off heat. Place cups on baking sheet and place in warm oven for 2 minutes. Unfortunately there is no procedure to restore crispness to sugar or waffle cones. We suggest breaking up sugar cones and waffle cones and using them as a topping.

I purchased your Joy gluten free sugar cones. When I opened the package, I noticed the cones had a different smell. Are they safe to eat?

Yes, the cones are safe to eat. They have their great taste with a slightly different smell. We are re-evaluating our oil ratio, which we believe is the root of the smell.

Please click on the link below for additional comments on this topic.

What causes the chocolate on the Joy chocolatey dipped cups to turn white?

Chocolate contains cocoa butter, a vegetable fat that is sensitive to heat and humidity. Temperatures above 75°F will cause chocolate to melt. The cocoa butter can rise to the surface and form a discoloration called "cocoa butter bloom." Condensation on milk or semi-sweet chocolate may cause the sugar to dissolve and rise to the surface as "sugar bloom." Chocolate bloom is one of the main concerns when producing chocolate. Chocolate that has "bloomed" is certainly safe to consume, but texture changes may be noticed.

There are no artificial ingredients in the chocolatey dipped cups.  We at Joy Cone thought it was important to have natural ingredients in this product.

To prevent chocolate bloom, we would have to add the following ingredients:

• Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil
• Sorbitan Tristearate
• Artificial Flavor
• Salt

Does your product contain tree-nuts or peanuts? Is there a chance of cross-contamination with other products in your bakery that do contain tree-nuts or peanuts?

None of our ice cream cones contain tree-nuts or peanuts. None of our ice cream cones contain ingredients that contain tree-nuts or peanuts. Since we only bake ice cream cones at our two bakeries, there is no chance of any cross-contamination with other products.

Are Joy Cones Kosher?

Yes. All Joy Cone products are certified kosher by Star-K or Star-D.

Where are your facilities located?

We have two facilities. Our eastern facility is located at 3435 Lamor Road in Hermitage, PA 16148. Our western facility is located at 2843 West Shamrell Blvd. in Flagstaff, AZ 86005.

Do you give tours of your facilities?


Hermitage Facility - Tours are given only during the months of August, September, October and November for parties up to 15. Please contact the Human Resource Department-Hermitage if you are interested booking a tour.

Click here for the Tour Group Registration Form for Hermitage, PA.

Flagstaff Facility: Tours must be scheduled in advance and are given only during the months of September, October, November, December, January and February on most Wednesdays and Thursdays.  Our tours are geared towards school and community groups and our season books very quickly.  However, at the start of each season we set aside a select number of dates for the general public. Please contact the Administrative Assistant if you are interested in booking a tour.

Food Service

What holds the paper wrapper to the ice cream cone?

The paper wrapper is held on the cone using a small drop of corn syrup. Corn Syrup is a food product and is safe for consumption. In addition, the paper wrapper and inks used on the wrapper are food grade.






Can I purchase my cones directly from Joy?

We do not sell our cones directly to the consumer with the exception of our Kids Cone® Samplers and Waffle Bowls which are available on Amazon.

Where can I get your cones?

Our cones are available through distributors throughout the United States and Canada. If you would like a list of local distributors click here.

Why do I need jackets on my cones? What do they do for me?

With the ever-increasing concerns about food borne illness and sanitation, it was only natural that we develop jackets for our cones. Jacketed cones project an image of cleanliness and show your customers that sanitation is a priority. Using jacketed cones will also cut down on the need for cone wraps and extra napkins. It is also a labor saver.

Can we have our name printed on the jackets?

Yes, the minimum is 500,000 jackets per size per year. If you are interested in a custom printed jacket please click here.

Can we have a custom size cone made?

Yes, but there are substantial tooling costs involved. If you are interested in a custom cone please contact Juergen Kloo at or (800) 242-2663 x3400.

How do I get credit for damaged cones?

You should contact your local distributor for credit. Most of the damage that is incurred in the field is a result of handling. If, however, you feel that there is a problem in the manufacturing of the cone please call us at (800) 242-2663 and ask for the food service department. We will log your complaint and advise what actions will be taken. Please have the case of cones in front of you when you call. We will need information from the case that is printed on a 6” by 4” case label.

Still have a question? Contact Us ▶
California Transparency in Supply Chains Act Disclosure Statement